“Seen” option is a new feature introduced by facebook which tells us if a message we sent is seen by our friend at the other end. It’s a great feature that helps us to know whether the user is active at other end, If he haven’t seen it or if he is just ignoring us. It’s a great feature but many a times facebook is much crowded and we can’t always chat with everyone on the list. So we may be forced to ignore someone with any excuse like “i haven’t seen it” , “That was in another tab” etc and with this feature, It is being a must to reply to everyone as they knows that you have seen their message. It reduces our privacy and personally most of the users hate this !
How to Remove / Disable “Seen” option in Facebook
If you are using google chrome, then follow the method below ;-
- Open your chrome browser
- Install this application called FB unseen extension
- Now you no longer the “Seen” feature is removed from your facebook account
Remove the read receipts with this extensions and your friends will no longer be able to see if you read their messages. You will still be able to see if they read your messages. One drawback of this extension is that all your messages will not be marked as read for yourself, too, and the “unread messages” notification stays visible as long as you do not reply (or mark it explicit as read.)
- Install Greasemonkey addon
- Then install this script called Facebook Stealth.
- After installing all it will start blocking seen message.
This script allows you to remove Facebook’s most retarted feature since the Timeline, namely the ‘seen’ notifications in the facebook chat.
It prevents Facebook from sending ‘currently typing’ and ‘seen’ requests, meaning people won’t receive notifications when you start typing or when you view their messages.
Don’t feel forced to reply to people anymore !